Suzi Beech and Family

This blog is about my family and my trials and tribulations as a work-from-home mom of twins.

Why Does Everything Take So Long aka What Did I Really do Today? May 15, 2009

Filed under: Personal Stuff,Working from home — Suzi Beech @ 8:53 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Maybe it’s just me, but time sure does seem to fly by.  Each and every day I sit down with my list of things I would like to accomplish.  Each and every day I start out accomplishing a little bit of something and then:  the phone rings; the laundry needs folding; the litter boxes needs cleaning; the dog needs walking; the kids need to be picked up from school;  and on and on.  I have my schedule, I have my list of things to do, but time goes so quickly!  Am I trying to do too much?  Am I not managing my time effectively?

Then again, why would something like creating and posting an ad take precedence over spending time with my kids on the playground on a beautiful afternoon?  Why should I sacrifice making a delicious dinner for one more article written.  Isn’t one of the greatest bonuses and joys of being ones own boss the flexibility of schedule and prioritizing ones tasks?  Instead of beating myself up for the things I didn’t cross of my “to do” list  today, I’m going to create a list of what I did do.  Here goes, in no particular order:

1.  I checked and replied to emails

2.  I checked all my posts, articles, listings, and leads and made the appropriate phone calls and follow-ups

3.  I talked to my mom on the phone, like I do almost every day

4.  I got my kids fed, dressed and off to school

5.  I picked-up the kids from school and took them, with friends, to the playground

6.  My daughter, dog  and I walked to the store, went shopping for a birthday party and visited the library

7.  I put away two full baskets of folded laundry

8.  I cleaned the litter boxes and took out the trash

9.  I got a wounded bird away from the cat using a broom and dustpan

10.  I wrote two articles, chatted with friends and mentors on Skype and listened to several training seminars

11.  I picked up the poor dead bird from the yard and put him in his final resting place

12.  I made a delicious dinner where all the food groups were represented

13.  I watched a family favorite television show with the husband and kids

14.  I am now posting to my blog while my husband and kids play basketball in the front yard

15.  I will read to the kids before they go to bed

16.  I read and re-read my marketing plan, guidelines and training modules

17.  After putting the kids to bed, I will check email, articles and forums, post where appropriate, follow-up where needed and chat with friends on Skype, Facebook and Twitter.

18.  Eventually, I will go to bed and read (currently “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”) before falling asleep

19.  In the morning, I will wake up and do it all again, only with slight variations for weekend activities:  acting class instead of school; birthday party instead of playground; four meals instead of three.

Looking at my list, it appears I actually did accomplish something today.  I worked at my business and I spent quality time with my family.  Some days are more laden with work and some with family.  The beauty of it all is that it’s a balance, my balance, and it works for me, my family and those we love.  That’s the point, right?

 

Leave a Reply

